Kindred Spirits
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Go down
interoutre

introduction - (A very long) Introduction Empty (A very long) Introduction

Sat 22 Jan 2022 - 21:47
Message reputation : 100% (2 votes)
Short intro: I’m 38, an ally, and I love board games and Mexican food.

Long intro: As I’m a writer, this won’t be a short intro; my apologies. It’s been a journey to get here.

I want to start by saying that I am an ally and have not partaken in a consanguineous partnership, nor do I desire to with any of my family members, to whom I am rather distant. As such, please know my feelings on the topic are not meant to speak for those who have experienced it. I’ll never be able to fully comprehend the whirlwind of feelings that come from finding yourself within one and I will not pretend to do so.

That said, the reason why I’m here is because I’ve come to find a comfort in the concept. When I was young, I was abused, some of which was apparent then, other elements I’m grasping now due to therapy. I’m finally realizing the biggest effect of that: I don’t trust anyone. I can’t let my defenses drop and connect on that level of intimacy required for a long-term commitment. It’s the main reason why I’m going through my second divorce. I feel stunted and I’m always running away, from my past and everyone I know.